Herts Sports Awards 2016

Image: Pixabay

[Georgia Porter | Sports Editor and Aimone Sharif | Sports Manager]

The Sports Awards is an annual social event hosted by the Athletic Union where all the sports clubs come together to celebrate the season’s achievements with food, drink and an unforgettable after party.

Everyone made an effort for this year’s party. The gents were suited and booted, and the ladies had glammed themselves up in their finest dresses, and The Forum had never looked so fancy.

The welcome drinks were filled with a fun and friendly atmosphere as everyone mingled around the room with their glasses of champagne rather than just sticking to their team tables.

David Connell, Director of Sport, kicked off the Sports Awards by introducing the evening’s host, Luke Ashmed from BBC Counties Radio.

There was a great reaction to the mini film put together showcasing every club in the room.

The awards, presented by Athletic Union’s Bryn Clark began with BUCS league winners. One by one, the Men’s and Women’s Basketball Team, Women’s Hockey 1st Team,  Netball 2nd and 3rd teams and the Men’s Ultimate Frisbee Team went up on stage to collect their awards and had their photos taken.

Kate Minton, who plays for the Netball 2nd Team, explained that as an international student: “Winning our BUCS league [was] definitely a highlight of my time as an exchange Student at UH.” She continued by saying how, since joining the Netball Team, she felt at home even though she was on the other side of the globe.

This year, the sports clubs have raised an honourable amount of money, but a special mention was given to the Rowing and Futsal clubs for their outstanding effort.

Next, the Full Purple Awards were presented. Winners included American Football’s, Jessica Anderson and Jonathan Ridge; Athletics’ Michael Pope; Football’s Caoimhe O’Reilly, Netball’s Bethany Sutherland; and White Water Rafting’s India Wayland and Vanessa Humphrey-White.

The presentation then moved onto the Half Purple Awards. Netball and Rugby dominated with Monique Thompson, Samantha May, Laura True and Stephanie Lewis-Smith collecting their awards for their achievements in Netball this year and Jordan Cox, Ben Patterson and Tom Webb for their achievements in Rugby.

“It’s really generous of the Athletic Union to present me with this award, I was surprised but extremely happy to win something tonight!” said Rugby’s Ben Patterson.

Mateusz Plaza, Captain of the Volleyball Team, explained the shock and gratefulness he felt at the awards: “It has a been a pleasure to play volleyball this year, it was an absolute pleasure and I am so thankful to have been rewarded for it as well.”

After a delicious dessert, the Club Purples were presented. This year, there was a huge amount of winners from a variety of clubs:Club PurplesAmerican FootballAlfie Sharman

Sarah GlassborowBadmintonMatthew WiddicombeBasketballDean Chapman

Fego AdhokoireCanoe & KayakBenjamin StaceyCheerleadingRebecca Pettitt

Elizaveta ZaskalkaCricketAndre RiddellDanceAmy WhitehouseMen’s FootballCharlie Gray

Boris Senturk

Metin Gozde

Carl ReschWomen’s FootballAbby Sanderson

Sydney HinchcliffeFutsalLiam Francis

Raman PineroGolfMatthew JackmanHockeyHannah Bebbington

Kiera Halloran

Katherine Burke

Umar SharifJudoChris HansonLacrosseGemma Marks

Harvey Blenkarne

Katherine Ellis

John HorburyNetballCatherine Ruddock

Kirstie Geary

Laura CooperRowingBethany Nicoll

Peter Marriott

Sebastian JonesRugbyBenjamin Anstee

Oliver Moule

Stephen Negus

James Maher

Sophie CongdonTrampoliningGeorgia LeighUltimate FrisbeeEmily Smith

Lee Ling-KnowlerVolleyballMateusz Plaza

Coach of the Year went to Women’s Basketball Coach, Michael Fields, for his commitment to the team.

It was brilliant to see so many clubs awarded the Outstanding Achievement Award. Rowing, Women’s Basketball, Netball, Cheerleading, Men’s Ultimate Frisbee and Men’s Cricket have achieved so much this season and were all deserving winners.

The final award to be present was the Team of the Year Award.  Both the Futsal and Women’s Basketball clubs won due to their great achievements. “Club of the year was a massive relief and created a sense of satisfaction within the team as a lot of us saw the team start at the bottom! The club has developed in every way and we are all so proud of our achievement!” declared Luças Nettleford.

The Sports Awards ended with last year’s Varsity video, which was an excellent way to pump up the teams for Varsity 2016, which is taking place today!

#Winners #win #Sports #badminton #Hockey #Dance #lacross #Judo #frisbee #canoe #Varsity #BUCS #wellbeing #rafting #AmericanFootball #Rugby #Volleyball #coach #purpleawards #basketball #futsal #Netball #SportsAwards #2016 #captain #halfpurpleawards #Cricket #AthleticsUnion #clubpurples #BBC #trampolining #cheerleading #golf #Athletics #kayak #fullpurpleawards #achievements

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All